
Violation(s):

PLEASE READ BOTH SIDES OF THIS NOTICE CAREFULLY

IMPORTANT: You must take action on or before the Due Date above.  Failure to address your citation by your Due Date will subject you to 
additional charges, penalties, assessments, fees and actions, including a civil assessment of $300 (PC 1214.1), a hold or suspension placed on 
your driver’s license by the DMV, and/or a possible warrant for your arrest. The civil assessment under PC 1214.1 may be collected by attachment 
of your wages, your spouse’s wages, bank accounts and other property, or by tax refund interception.

TO PAY YOUR CITATION AND CLOSE YOUR CASE (Bail Forfeiture):  You may pay the full Amount Due above with no further action necessary 
(unless “Mandatory Appearance” is reflected). Upon payment, the case will be closed and conviction information will be forwarded to the DMV for 
any reportable violations. To pay, use one of the following options prior to the Due Date:

� �� ��������     www.sanmateocourt.org - additional fees apply for payments made online
� �� ��	
�                         Send your check or money order made payable to the Superior Court of California, County of San Mateo to the address  

             above. Be sure to include your court case number on your check/money order.
� �� ���
���        At the traffic window during counter hours. (You may need to wait in line for assistance.)

TO APPEAR IN COURT (Arraignment):  An arraignment is an appearance in court to hear your charges, advisement of rights and entry of your 
plea. The officer will not be present. Your appearance in court is OPTIONAL unless “Mandatory Appearance” is reflected above. You are not 
automatically scheduled for a court date. To appear in court, you must schedule a court date prior to your Due Date either online through the court’s 
website at www.sanmateocourt.org or in person at the traffic window during counter hours. (You may need to wait in line for assistance.) Reserve 
early as space is limited and calendars fill up quickly.

EXTENSION OF DUE DATE:  One 30-day extension of your Due Date above may be obtained through our website at www.sanmateocourt.org, 
as long as your Due Date has not passed.

NOTICE OF BAIL

More information on reverse side

Clerk’s Office Counter Hours
8 a.m. - 2 p.m. Monday - Thursday
8 a.m. - 12 p.m. on Fridays

Phone Hours: (650) 363-4300
10 a.m. - 2 p.m. Monday - Thursday
10 a.m. - 12 p.m. on Fridays

      
     
    

Superior Court of California
County of San Mateo
Traffic Division 
500 County Center
Redwood City, CA 94063

(Court Code: 41470)

04/17/13

   

MI034179

$500.00

04/09/13

05/20/13

Case Number:

Citation Number:

Amount Due Without Proof of Correction:

Amount Due With Proof of Correction:

Violation Date:

Due Date:

Date:

VC - 21453C RED SIGNAL - VEHICULAR RESPON.
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PLEASE READ ALL INFORMATION BEFORE SELECTING AN OPTION

[  ]  BAIL FORFEITURE:  When selecting this option, your case will be closed with no further action required once your full Amount Due payment 
is received and processed. Conviction information will be forwarded to the DMV for all reportable violation(s). You cannot select this option if 
“Mandatory Appearance” is reflected.

[  ]  PROOF OF CORRECTION:  If you have been issued a correctable/fix-it ticket, the corrected violation(s) must be signed off by a police officer 
and submitted to the court by the Due Date along with your payment for the Amount Due with Proof of Correction as reflected on the front of 
this notice. Vehicle registration and driver’s license violations may also be signed off by the DMV or you may submit proof to a traffic court clerk. 
Insurance violations (VC 16028A) can only be dismissed upon proof to a traffic court clerk of insurance coverage that was valid on the date of the 
citation (provide a copy of your insurance card or policy). If you show proof that insurance was obtained after the date of the citation, your fine 
amount may be reduced. You may submit payment and proof of correction to the court by mail or in person.

[  ]  TRAFFIC SCHOOL:  You may be able to have the conviction held confidential by the DMV if you are eligible and have not attended traffic 
violator school for another violation committed within 18 months of your present violation. This is calculated from violation date to violation date, 
not traffic school attendance date. You are not eligible if you were cited for speeding and your speed exceeded 25 mph over the limit or cited 
while driving a commercial vehicle. To request traffic school, you must pay the full Amount Due plus a $49 non-refundable administrative fee. You 
may pay and request traffic school through our website at www.sanmateocourt.org. Your case will be extended and you can obtain information for 
DMV approved traffic schools from our website - n����n� w��� b� m����� �� y�� f��m ��� c����� You may also send your payment and request 
for traffic school to the court address listed on this notice. Once processed, the court will send traffic school information and instructions to you. 
Traffic schools are private companies and will charge a separate fee for you to enroll.  NOTICE: If you are eligible and decide not to attend traffic 
school, your automobile insurance may be adversely affected. One conviction in any 18-month period will be held confidential and not show on 
your driving record if you complete a traffic violator school program. If you were cited while driving with a Class A, B or Commercial Class C driver’s 
license, on or after January 1, 2013, but you were not driving a commercial vehicle at the time of the violation, you may attend traffic school, if 
eligible. Although the DMV will not assess the point count on your driving record, they will not hold the conviction as confidential and therefore 
your insurance may be adversely affected.

[  ]  COURT TRIAL:  To request a court trial without having to appear for an arraignment first, you must submit the full Amount Due by mail or in 
person only. Once your payment is received and processed, a court trial will be set and you and the issuing officer will be notified of the trial date. 
Your signature is required below acknowledging that you are waiving time, which means your court trial will be set beyond 45 days. Depending on 
the outcome of the trial, your payment will either be refunded or applied to your fine. If you are found guilty, the option to attend traffic school will 
be at the discretion of the judicial officer. Court trial dates cannot be scheduled online.

x_____________________________________________________________  Date________________Phone #_________________________

Signature - I plead not guilty, waive time and request a court trial - full Amount Due enclosed

[  ]  TRIAL BY WRITTEN DECLARATION (TBD):  You must submit the full Amount Due when selecting this option. This �o���n is �n�y �a����b��

for Vehicle Code infractions or local ordinances adopted pursuant to the Vehicle Code (fare evasion violations are not eligible). This 
option allows you to plead not guilty and contest your citation without appearing in court by submitting your signed request below and the full 
Amount Due listed on this notice by the Due Date. The court will then send you instructions and declaration forms. The Judicial Officer will render a 
decision based upon the documents and declarations submitted by you and the citing officer. Depending on the outcome of the trial, your payment 
will either be refunded or applied to your fine. If you are found guilty, the option to attend traffic school will be at the discretion of the judicial officer.
If you select this option, do not schedule an arraignment or court trial date.

x_____________________________________________________________  Date________________Phone #_________________________

Signature - I plead not guilty, waive time and request a Trial by Written Declaration - full Amount Due enclosed
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